2014 National Blue Ribbon School

Armstrong was named as a National Blue Ribbon School on September 29,2014.  All of the teachers, students and staff gathered in the cafeteria to await the announcement from the Secretary of Education, Arnie Duncan.  He had a personal message for all of the schools named as National Blue Ribbon School.  The link for the announcement can be found by clicking here.


Armstrong was one of 287 public schools and 50 private schools to receive this honor.  The recognition ceremony will be held on November 10-11, 2014.  In the 32 years that this award has been given, only less than 7,900 schools in America have received this honor.  


"These great schools are fulfilling the promise of American education—that all students, no matter their name or zip code, can flourish when schools provide safe, creative, and challenging learning environments," Secretary Duncan said. "National Blue Ribbon Schools are models of consistent excellence and a resource for other schools and districts. We celebrate them for their tireless effort and boundless creativity in reaching and teaching every student."


According to the Department of Education, all schools are recognized in either one of two performance categories: Exemplary High Performing Schools and Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing.  Exemplary High Performing Schools  are the schools that continue to score the highest with state standardized testing.  The other category, Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools, are those that are able to prove with five year data that they are closing the achievement gap.  According to the U.S. Department of Education, "Specifically, for the 2013-2014 award year, the Department strengthened the focus of both categories' performance criteria around subgroups within a school and improving graduation rates for all students."  


We are very proud of Armstrong School for the Arts for having this highest honor bestowed on our school.


You can find out more information on Blue Ribbon Schools and the process, please click here.



Please click here for our winning application.